Have you been caught driving while intoxicated? Drinking and driving cases are incredibly prevalent, and the vast majority of them involve people who were driving while barely over the legal blood alcohol limit, and who were also unaware that they were driving while over the legal limit. Here’s what you need to know about DWI cases in Minnesota:
Table of Contents
What constitutes a felony DWI?
A felony DWI carries a mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year and 1 day in jail. You can be charged with felony DWI in Minnesota if your case falls into one of two categories:
You have committed your 4th DWI or other impaired driving violation in the last 10 years. Or you have been convicted of a felony DWI in the past.
A felony DWI is punishable to up to 7 years in jail and a $14,000 fine. As a result, anyone accused with a felony DWI should seek legal advice from an experienced Minnesota DWI attorney.
Is it possible to go to jail for driving while intoxicated?
While it is feasible, it is not a guarantee. Although some repeat offenders are subject to mandatory minimum penalties, most people charged with DWI are able to avoid having to serve any jail time provided they have a strong criminal defense lawyer on their side who can assist them in defending their case.
What are the consequences if I’m found guilty?
If you are found guilty of DWI, there are a variety of penalties that could be applied depending on a number of various factors in your case.
How will my driver’s license be affected?
If you are charged with DWI or DUI, you will receive a notice 7 days after the incident that your license will be revoked. Your license can be canceled in Minnesota even if you haven’t had a chance to defend yourself in court.
Is a DWI going to stay on my record for a long time?
In Minnesota, DWI crimes can result in prison sentences. As a result, DWI charges from the previous 10 years can be utilized by the prosecution to increase the severity of a new criminal charge that has been brought against you. As a result, it’s extremely difficult to have a DWI conviction expunged from your record until at least 10 years have passed. A DWI conviction will almost certainly remain on your permanent record for the rest of your life unless you successfully petition the court for expungement.
Lauren Campoli provides expert legal representation to adults and She is a Minnesota State Bar Association Certified Criminal Law Specialist and is also a nationally-recognized trial lawyer who has tried over 50 jury trials, with a success rate of 87%.
Read More: How Vitamins Can Affect The Quality Of Your Life?