How Many Levels Are There In Maths Olympiad?

How Many Levels Are There In Maths Olympiad?

Last Updated on July 19, 2022 by

The Mathematical Olympiad Program in India, which leads to the support of Indian students in the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) is coordinated by the Homi Bhabha Center for Science Education (HBCSE) for the National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) of the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India. This program is one of the significant initiatives attempted by the NBHM. Its main purpose is to find numerical ability among pre-university students in the country.

To prepare and selection of students for the Olympiad contest, 25 regions all around the nation have been designated and each assigned a Regional Coordinator (RC). Moreover, three groups (Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti (NVS), and Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS) have a ‘Regional Coordinator’ each.

The capability for the math olympiad varies according to the sort of olympiad exams the student is applying for. For instance, all students from classes 1 to 12 can apply for the International Math Olympiad driven by the Science Olympiad Foundation. The level of the numerical olympiad exam is by and large testing and requires students to have point-by-point information on all topics in the syllabus. Students need to ensure satisfactory practice and examine their weak parts for performing best in olympiad exams.

IMO has a total of 6 levels:

Stage 1:

The first stage of examination, the pre-Regional Mathematical Olympiad (PRMO)  consists of 30 questions in total, and the duration of the examination is 2 and a half hours. The answer to each question is either a single-digit number or a two-digit number and should be set separated on a machine-understandable OMR response sheet. The PRMO question paper is in two languages that is Hindi and English.

Stage 2:

The second stage examination, the Regional Mathematical Olympiad (RMO) is a 3-hour examination with six problems. The RMOs are presented in English, Hindi, and other common languages as considered suitable by the respective Regional Coordinators. The problems under each point incorporate a high level of trouble and sophistication.

Stage 3:

The best-performing students from the RMO (around 900) meet all requirements for the third stage – the Indian National Mathematical Olympiad (INMO). The INMO is held tight on the third Sunday of January at 28 centers across the country.

Stage 4:

The top students from the INMO (around 35) are invited to the fourth stage, the International Mathematical Olympiads Training Camp (IMOTC) held at HBCSE from April to May. At this camp, the heading is given to students to the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO). Emphasis is laid on making applied foundations and critical thinking skills. Various types of selection tests are held during this camp. Based on the execution of these tests, six students are selected to represent India at the IMO. Resource persons from various institutions across the country are welcome to the instructional courses.

Stage 5:

The selected gathering undergoes a rigorous preparation program for around 8-10 days at HBCSE preceding its departure for the IMO.

Stage 6:

The Olympiads program culminates with the collaboration of the students in the IMO. The students are joined by 4 teachers or mentors.

“Studying for the math-related Olympiads will advance the logical reasoning of students and will drive them toward the right career path”

Get your child to crack the olympiad with BeyondSkool’s Olympiad test prep. The Gold Standard for Olympiad Preparation. Book a free demo today