Vedic Astrology: Effects & Remedies

Vedic Astrology: Effects & Remedies

Last Updated on November 22, 2021 by davidharnold

Astrology is a science that is followed by many western and eastern traditions and cultures. Although the methods and teachings are different, the principles of both remain the same. Western astrology is based on constellations and the study of stars and planets in direct correlation to earth based on their appearance and traits.

Eastern astrology is referred to as Vedic Astrology and is most widely used in countries such as India and other southeastern Asian countries. Vedic astrology is a combination of the study of stars, planets, their paths, the sun, the various constellations, the life on earth, and many such detailed observations made by astrologers in the past.

There are many books and scriptures that detail the methods of calculation of what is called the horoscope of a person – a chart that details the positions of the planets, stars, the earth, the sun, the moon, and the concept of Karma.

All this taken into account, gives Vedic Astrology an upper hand in understanding the secrets and logic behind the universe and its mysterious ways and how people and their fate could turn out.

The 4 Concepts of Vedic Astrology

When it comes to Vedic Astrology, much of the science has been written and encapsulated in one of the oldest textbooks of Indian Mythology – the Rigveda. The Vedas are holy books of Hinduism that describe the various nuances of the universe and their relativity to the common man.

In Vedic astrology, it is believed that every man is born and has 4 main concepts or roles that one must fulfill and in accordance, must pass on to the next realm or the afterlife.

There is also the concept of Karma which a person accumulates over a period of time as he fulfills all his earthly duties and it is believed that good karma leads to Moksha – the final liberation from all things worldly.

Below are the 4 concepts of Vedic Astrology that is essentially part of every man’s life:


Dharma is defined as the righteous duty or the responsibility that every human has to fulfill while he is alive on this planet – towards his country, towards his family, towards his religion, and towards himself.


Kama is the ‘pleasure’ that every man desires to enjoy throughout his life. This is a right that every human is born with and therefore is expected to go through without harming society or himself


Artha is the true meaning of life – finding one’s own purpose in the world and working towards that so that when life itself is over, every man leaves behind a legacy, is a fundamental responsibility of humans.


Moksha is the ultimate liberation from the cycle of life and death – every human gets a chance to accumulate good karma and helps his own case by being a good human and finding his own peace

Vedic Signs

Vedic Astrology effects are calculated by the signs under which each individual is born. This is in correlation with the appearance of stars and planets and their positions with regard to the earth, sun, and moon. Based on the signs, the various effects of the other planets and stars are calculated on each individual.

There are 12 signs under Vedic astrology and each is in correlation with a specific constellation. For every problem or effect, remedies are drawn by Vedic Astrologers that may include auspicious ceremonies called Homams, poojas, visits to holy sites and temples, etc.